Important Louisiana Divorce Guidelines to File for a Divorce
Louisiana Residency Requirements For Divorce
To file Louisiana divorce papers, either spouse must have been a resident of the state for a minimum of one year. There is a 180 day waiting period before a divorce will be granted.
Grounds For Divorce In Louisiana
The no-fault grounds for divorce in Louisiana are:
- living separate and apart for 180 days after the filing of petition;
- living separate and apart without reconciliation for six months prior to filing a petition for divorce.
The fault grounds for divorce in Louisiana include, but are not limited to:
- conviction of a felony.
Louisiana Child Custody
In Louisiana, joint custody is presumed to be in the best interests of the child. Joint custody retains both parents’ decision-making rights pertaining to the child’s development.
Louisiana courts will consider factors including, but not limited to:
- relationship between parents and child;
- age and gender of the child;
- each parent’s ability to encourage a continuing relationship between the child and the other parent;
- each parent’s moral fitness, mental, and physical health.
Louisiana Child Support Guidelines
Unless special circumstances are present, the courts calculate child support based on the official child support guidelines. Child support will continue until the child reaches adulthood, and may be extended through his or her secondary education.
Louisiana divorce forms may be filed in the petitioner’s or respondent’s county of residence.
Before or after Louisiana divorce forms are filed, either or both of the parties may file for mediation. The Louisiana courts may order a couple to mediation to resolve child custody issues.