Colorado Divorce Laws Explained
Colorado Residency Requirements For Divorce
The filing spouse must have lived in the state for at least 90 days before filing Colorado divorce forms. After the responding spouse is served, there is a 90 day waiting period before a Colorado divorce can be finalized.
Grounds For Divorce In Colorado
The only grounds for divorce in Colorado is:
- irretrievable breakdown of the marriage.
Colorado Child Custody
The parties may agree upon the best custody arrangement for their children. Joint custody allows the parties to have equal input into the important decisions concerning their children’s upbringing. Sole custody allocates decision making to one parent.
The following factors and more are considered in determining custody:
- wishes of the parents;
- wishes of the child if sufficiently mature;
- bond between child and siblings;
- child’s adjustment to home, school, and community;
- ability to encourage the sharing of love, affection, and contact between the child and the other parent;
- child or spousal abuse.
Colorado Child Support Guidelines
Unless special circumstances are present, the courts calculate child support based on the official child support guidelines. Typically, child support continues until the child reaches adulthood or until he or she completes high school.
Colorado divorce forms may be filed in the petitioner’s or respondent’s county of residence.
The courts may appoint an arbitrator to resolve disputes between the parties concerning their minor or dependent children. The parties may agree at any time before or after filing Colorado divorce papers to mediate any disputed issue.