Connecticut Divorce Laws Explained
Connecticut Residency Requirements For Divorce
One spouse must have resided in the state for at least a year, and have proof of such residence before filing Connecticut divorce papers. There is a 90 day waiting period before a divorce may be granted.
Grounds For Divorce In Connecticut
Connecticut recognizes both fault and no-fault grounds for divorce.
No-fault grounds for divorce in Connecticut include:
- irretrievable breakdown of the marriage;
- incompatibility and voluntary separation for 18 months, with no reasonable prospect for reconciliation.
Fault grounds for divorce in Connecticut include:
- life imprisonment;
- confinement for incurable insanity for five years;
- cruel and inhuman treatment;
- willful desertion and non-support for one year.
Connecticut Child Custody
The court may award joint or sole custody. In a contested situation, the court will consider the wishes of the child if sufficiently mature. The court may also consider whether the party satisfactorily completed participation in a parenting education program.
Connecticut Child Support Guidelines
Unless special circumstances are present, the courts calculate child support based on the official child support guidelines. Child support will continue until the child reaches adulthood, and may be extended through his or her secondary education.
Connecticut divorce forms may be filed in the petitioner’s or respondent’s county of residence, or in the Connecticut county the spouses lived in when the grounds for divorce arose.
Connecticut courts have authority to require mediation to address dissolution issues. The parties may agree to submit their disputed issues to mediation at any time after the Connecticut divorce forms are filed.